catching up

Hmmm, I don’t seem to be doing so well with my promise to post three blog entries per week.  Waiting for inspiration, I call it.  Inspiration hasn’t come and sat on my lap, so I’ll write anyway.  Tomorrow I’m heading off to a meditation retreat; Patti, who’s also going, has written about it on her blog (eat man drink water, link is in my list) and I’m going to cheat and copy the schedule from that.  It’s called Wo Fo Yo O, and it’s at a center based on the teachings of Thich Nhat Hahn.  I’ve done retreats before, and found them wonderful, but it’s been awhile, and it will be tough doing all the sitting and being silent, especially since my fella and 3 friends will be there.

05:00am Wake-up

05:30 Sitting Meditation/ Chanting
07:00 Exercise
08:00 Breakfast
09:30 Working Meditation
11:30 Walking Meditation
2:00pm Personal Time
03:00 Dharma Discussion/Activities
05:00 Sitting/Chanting
06:00 Dinner
07:00 Self study time
10:00 Lights out.
I’m psyched, looking forward to some time with my butt on a meditation cushion instead of this chair in front of my Mac.  I’m still deep in my project of photoshopping my brother’s old mideast photos–150 down, 50 to go.  Whew.
Today I took a break to work on an application for another sort of retreat, at the Millay Art Colony.  They award 48 artists a year with a chance to work without interruption for four weeks, room and board and studio included.  I would LOVE to be accepted, but I’m not getting my hopes up. I really can’t imagine a month without my usual distractions, the welcome and unwelcome ones–I wonder if I’d just go nuts.
I thought I’d post a couple of recent paintings I included with my application; I have no idea what they’re looking for, what they want, but the best I can do is just show them what I’ve done.
2 Responses to “catching up”

  1. jerry with a j Says:

    oh my god. people are up and out of bed and dressed at 5:30? I’ll bet they do that to the prisoners and Guantanamo but they keep that secret.

  2. AKW Says:

    That sounds like a great plan. I hope they pick you!

Leave a Reply

