what, it’s May already?

And I didn’t post a single thing in April?  Damn.  I meant to.

What are there more of than stars in the sky, droplets in all the oceans?  Answer: pine needles in my back yard.  I’ve been raking them up for days and days, heaving huge heaps of them into the wagon my wonderful next-door neighbor Jim drives to the dump.  And still there are more, and more, and more. And leaves and twigs and branches.  Another dear friend, Steve, cleaned up my front yard for me for a reasonable price, but I really have to count pennies now so instead of hiring someone as I usually do, I picked up the rake and am going at it.  I don’t usually fret much about the yard, but there’s going to be my daughter Jessica’s wedding reception there in August, so it needs to look all clean and trim and spiffy and flowery, and I’d rather spend my yard budget on pretty things than raking. Can’t do too much at a time because my back starts screaming at me, but I have to admit it almost feels good to be doing physical work after the long sedentary winter.  I am SUCH a slug.

fading magnolia blossom

fading magnolia blossom

Now I’m about to take my sweaty self to the shower…blisters are stinging, and the tickling at the back of my nose is warning me of sneezing fits to come.  Off to deliver art to WAAM and Varga (if she’s around today) for this coming weekend’s shows.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “what, it’s May already?”

  1. gberke Says:

    I like your writing.

  2. patti o Says:

    well it’s about TIME you wrote.
    How exciting to have yet ANOTHER wedding!
    Did you get art to Varga and to WAAM?
    I have a piece at the Woodstock School of Art show, and 2 pieces at Varga, but I was not able to get it together for WAAM. Can’t do it all, esp. since i have not been well. Still got enough done!

    xxp

Leave a Reply

