Studio Stuff

Right now I’m taking a break from one of my least favorite chores, studio cleaning.  I have a 2-room studio; one room is the house’s family room, where I do computer work, drawing, and collage, and the other is an adjoining converted garage, where I do messy stuff. Between them is a good-sized storage room.  After my solo show at the WAAM in November, I was tired of the mess of assemblage work, and decided to simplify, spending my time painting and learning some techniques I never picked up in my non-education.  (I’m basically a self-taught artist with an MFA.) Nope, not going to digress, I’m procrastinating enough as is.  Thing is, the garage area gets really cold despite one small heat vent, and it’s expensive to heat it.  So I moved my paints and various accoutrements into the family room area, and all winter just flung (flang? flinged?) stuff into the garage studio.  Boxes from online shopping, plastic bags, dead animals, etc.  And now I’m moving back…it’s the decision-making part of organization that gets to me.    I want to put paints on a table which is covered with assemblage stuff.  Gotta move that, but where? Oh, that shelf would be good, but what do I do with the junk that’s on it now?  I could put that in a drawer…the drawer stuff in the storage room, the storage room stuff…where does it go?  On that clean table in the studio?  NO!  That’s where I started.  I keep going in circles till I’m dizzy.  And get all sidetracked by sorting out little beads and bones and rusty things. I spent half an hour with cicada wings, removing them from crumbling bodies. Once started, this job could take up the rest of my life.  Here’s what the studio looked like this morning (above), and what it looked like last year when I killed myself for the Artists’ Tour (below).  Posting the “before” should mortify me enough to get me back to work.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Studio Stuff”

  1. thegenerousweb Says:

    Good thing you cleaned up a bit before you posted the after picture… that is confusing, the before picture is the good one, the after is the mess… so you want to go back to before…

  2. loelbarr Says:

    Yes, if I could take my studio back in time a year, my body 20 years, all would be dandy.

    website: http://www.loelbarr.com blog: http://www.loelbarr.wordpress.com

    845-246-3765

  3. AKW Says:

    Boy can I relate to your decision-making process. WHERE does everything go? I’m always asking that. Good luck with your cleaning.

    : )

  4. All About Vignettes Says:

    Oh my. The artists’ tour room is fabulous, but the other looks like a space where work gets done.

    k

Leave a Reply

